Skip to product information
1 of 6

Retro Tea Breaks Volume One

Retro Tea Breaks Volume One

The Cave

Regular price £14.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £14.99 GBP
Sale Sold out

Retro Tea Breaks Vol.1 is a collection of interviews with pioneers who have helped shape the computer, console and video game industry.

As time passes, it is becoming more and more important that we record these voices and first-hand experiences while we still have access to them. That's my goal with the Retro Tea Break series, and within this book I hope to capture and share these fantastic memories and experiences with you all.

This volume includes 14 very special conversations with: 

  •  The Oliver Twins (British 8-bit pioneers)
  •  Al Lowe (Sierra, Video Game Developer)
  •  George 'The Fat Man' Sanger (Composer, Freelance/Lucas Arts)
  •  Bill Volk (Developer, Activision/Avalon Hill)
  •  Francois Lionet (Developer, STOS/AMOS)
  •  Rob Hubbard (Composer, C64 Maestro/Electronic Arts)
  •  Stoo Cambridge (Artist, Sensible Software)
  •  Jon St. John (Voice Over Artist, Duke Nukem 3D)
  •  Mike Dailly (DMA, Grand Theft Auto/Lemmings)
  •  David Fox  (Developer, Lucas Arts)
  • Chris Sawyer (Transport Tycoon, RollerCoaster Tycoon)
  • Ken Silverman (Build engine)

Each interview includes technical breakouts and explanations to support the conversation, and a centrefold illustrates the release timeline of discussed games as well as full colour pixel portraits of each guest by Sensible Software artist Stoo Cambridge.

View full details

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
High quality and great service

The copy I received had a little personalised signature in it, which would have been lovely, except I bought it as a gift. I didn't realise this until after I gave it away!

Not great when the person you bought a gift for, shows you a note left for you, inside their book. :/